Covers a large area of Central Park from east to west and from 86th Street to 96th Street. It was constructed between 1858 and 1862. It is probably best known for the 1.58 mile track surrounding it, where thousands of runners tone up every day. The Reservoir itself (officially named the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir in 1994) contributes significantly to the environmental pleasure of the exercise, particularly in the summer when water evaporation from its surface cools the air. The unsightly seven-foot chain-link fence surrounding the Reservoir, which was erected in 1926, obscured joggers' and pedestrians' views of the magnificent Manhattan skyline. In 2003, the Conservancy completed the installation of a new Reservoir fence, made of steel with cast-iron ornamentation, closely resembling the original historic fence that was in place from 1864 to 1926. The new four-foot-high fence, installed on the existing eight-inch granite coping stone, has opened up breathtaking views of Central Park and the Manhattan skyline. The 106-acre water body is 40 feet deep and holds over a billion gallons of water. It is still under the jurisdiction of the New York City Department of Environmental Protection. Although it no longer distributes fresh water to Manhattan residents, its overflow is critical for providing fresh water to the Pool, Loch, and Harlem Meer -- the series of connecting water bodies in the northern part of the Park.