Tel: (212) 288-0700
The Frick is one of the preeminent small art museums in the United States, with a very high-quality collection of old master paintings housed in 16 galleries within the former mansion. The collection features some of the best-known paintings by major European artists, as well as numerous works of sculpture and porcelain. It also has furniture, enamel, and carpets.
It is housed in the former residence of steel magnate Henry Clay Frick (1849-1919), which was designed by Thomas Hastings and constructed in 1913-1914
Included in the collection are Jean-Honoré Fragonard's masterpiece, "The Progress of Love", three paintings by Johannes Vermeer including "Mistress and Maid", and Piero della Francesca's "St. John the Evangelist".
Other featured artists include:François Boucher,John Constable,Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot, Aelbert Cuyp, Thomas Gainsborough, El Greco, Francisco Goya, Frans Hals, Malvina Hoffman, Hans Holbein the Younger, Rembrandt, Jacob van Ruisdael, Titian, J. M. W. Turner, Anthony van Dyck, James McNeill Whistler
Since Frick's death, the collection has slightly expanded, with a third of its art works acquired since 1919. The Frick also oversees the Frick Art Reference Library.
Address: 1 E. 70th St., New York, NY 10021-4967
includes the ArtPhone audio guide